setrqc.blogg.se

Musicbrainz picard vs mp3tag
Musicbrainz picard vs mp3tag








musicbrainz picard vs mp3tag

I love the MetaBrainz services and its community of contributors, but in my case, I can’t get along with Picard in its current state. My use case: dragging in an album, wanting to have MBIDs tagged (or whatever specific MB data I may want) and to be done with it. Mp3tag exists and does a great job, so I can understand if it seems redundant to try and cover similar ground, but for those of us that use Picard complementarily, the preserved tags feature feels cumbersome: blank fields aren’t left alone, and if I’ve understood correctly, on top of maintaining a long list of tags to be preserved, I also have to be aware of what was blank before, and what has been written to after (then manually deleting them, by hand or via script, as what may be originally blank/empty is not a consistent thing between songs/albums) let me choose what I want Picard to tag rather than finding ways to restrict it from tagging what it wants to tag. Why not a filter for tags to be written instead (seeing as Picard wants to write all that it can)? My guess is that Picard began primarily as a means to tag MB data-rather than a general audio file tagger-leading to thinking about what should be excluded instead of included. It seems like backwards thinking to define a list of preserved tags. After a quick search, it looks as though this issue has crept up numerous times over the years, and I was surprised to find out how unintuitive it was to try and achieve this when operating the software.

#MUSICBRAINZ PICARD VS MP3TAG SOFTWARE#

I realise the software is called MusicBrainz Picard, but I wish it would behave more generically in this regard. Is there any interest in adding the feature so that Picard only writes the tags that have been specified?










Musicbrainz picard vs mp3tag